Skip to main content

TrustEd Apps Accessibility Task Force

The TrustEd Apps Accessibility Task Force is a group of higher education, K12 institutional members and edtech supplier members to advance projects and common frameworks related to accessibility and equitable access.  The current project underway is the development of a rubric for assessing the posture of edtech suppliers toward accessibility policies and programs for their products.  Once finalized, the rubric will become part of the TrustEd Apps certification program and playbook resources.

Sign up for this community


Meeting Information: 


Forums and Discussion

Participate in the forum to find minutes & agendas for work group calls. You will also be able to participate in the discussion around the work and ask support questions.

View the Forum

Brock Behling
Program Director for Instructional Technologies
christina volpe
Accessibility Manager
Andrea Swehosky
Senior Technical Project Manager for Accessibility
Richard Orme
Doug Hayman
IT Accessibility Evaluator/Coordinator
Nancy Swenson
Associate Instructional Designer
Erin Evans
Director of Accessibility Consulting Services
Kelly Hermann
Vice President, Accessibility, Equity & Inclusion
Owen McGrath
Director, Strategic Initiatives & Programs/Research, Teaching, & Learning
Tzviya Siegman
Rachel Comerford
Senior Director of Accessibility
Andy Duckworth
Technology Innovation Officer
Russ Poulin
Executive Director
Peter Ramsdell
VP Sales, Professional Solutions
Kate Miffitt
Assistant Director for Innovation
Justin Tumelaire
Accessibility Manager
Michael Campbell
Business Analyst, LMS
Daisy Bennett
Privacy Officer
Lisa Nicks
Sr. Manager, Accessibility
Courtney McGough
Business Systems Analyst
Bethany Gordy
Enterprise Architect
Bethany Gordy is the Enterprise Learning Technology Architect at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she provides strategy, holistic evaluation, and implementation of new applications and integrations within its centrally-supported digital learning environment. In her over 20 years in IT, she has held several positions in the academic technology space, such as business analyst, senior instructional designer, and senior project manager. Her experience provides a foundation for a unique perspective that allows her to craft strategies and solutions that meet campus needs for a comprehensive, integrated learner-centered digital ecosystem. Bethany holds a Master of Science in Project Management; is a graduate of the MOR Associates Information Technology Leadership Program; and is currently chairing the Unizin Learning Tools, Strategies, and Operations group.
Philip Voorhees
IT Manager - Accessibility
Kane Stanley
Business Systems Analyst
Dipesh Jain
Business Development
Rick Johnson
Co-Founder and Vice President of Product Strategy and Accessibility
Rick Johnson, one of the founders of VitalSource Technologies, directs their product strategy, accessibility and standards work, VitalSource is the maker of Bookshelf®, the most widely used platform for delivery of electronic learning materials in the world.

Rick's career has been focused on bringing together his three passions: technology, publishing, and education. He is a frequent speaker on electronic textbooks, their integration into an institutional environment, and how the accessibility needs of individual students can best be accommodated in their delivery. He has served on multiple committees addressing the needs around delivering accessible content to students, was a member of the working groups responsible for version 2 and version 3 of the EPUB standard, and is the co-inventor of 3 domestic and international patents dealing with electronic books and their distribution.

Prior to VitalSource, Rick spent more than 12 years with Apple Computer, Inc. As a Senior National Consulting Engineer for them he was instrumental in the implementation of complex solutions for many higher education and corporate customers, and received numerous national and international awards.

A graduate of the communication and business departments of Biola University in 1984, Rick has lived in the Phoenix area with his family since they moved from Southern California in 1991. Married to his wife Susie for more than 35 years, together they have raised two children, have two grandchildren, and are very active in their church and community. Rick also serves on the board of directors for several non-profit ministries.
George Kerscher
Chief Innovations Officer
Jennifer Lotze
Assistant Director of Teaching/Learning
Jennifer Lotze is the Instructional Technology Coordinator for the Hudson School District. She previously served as an Instructional Technology Trainer in the Sheboygan Area School District and an Educational Consultant at CESA 11. During her teaching career, she worked as a Cross Categorical Special Educator and focused on teaching individuals with disabilities how to use technology to be successful in their everyday lives. Within her special education program, she helped her students to create a successful business within the school environment. She is a Google for Education Certified Trainer and works with educational professionals all over the country as they integrate technology into their learning environments. She presents to help individuals get the most out of the technology they have access to and make accommodations to existing technology for use with all students. She received her Masters Degree from Carthage College in the area of Educational Leadership with an emphasis in Assistive Technology.
christina volpe
Accessibility Manager
Emily Anderson
Michael Vaughn
Associate Director of Digital Accessibility
Joshua Hori
Accessibility Coordinator
Erin Evans
Director of Accessibility Consulting Services
Amanda King-Spezzo
Release Manager