Skip to main content

K-12 Advisory Council

The K-12 Advisory Council enables effective collaboration among school district and state leaders who are creating and implementing technology integration strategies that enable continuous improvement in instruction and personalized learning. The Advisory Council leads the adoption of open instructional technology interoperability standards for curriculum, assessment, and all aspects of instructional improvement for the benefit of school districts and states working to put in place a new generation of IT infrastructure.

Benjamin Brown
Chief Technology Officer
Benjamin “Benjie” Brown serves as the Chief Technology Officer for Darlington County School District. Mr. Brown provides leadership for the continued development of an innovative, robust, and secure information technology environment throughout the District.
Darlington County School District Technology Department provides support for instructional technology, digital tools, delivery of IT infrastructure and services, information security systems and compliance, administrative systems, and client support services.
Brown is committed to working with the DCSD team to create an instructional environment that fosters and encompasses innovation as well as a sustainable IT infrastructure that supports personalized student learning and bolsters achievement.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2024
Angela Ingram
Knowledge and Interoperability Manager
Mrs. Ingram has a diverse role at the Department where she is responsible for the planning and implementation of instructional systems to work together and exchange information methodically. In addition, she manages the technological components of the library media program, open educational resources, and digital standards in CASE format. As a team leader on the Knowledge and Resource Management team, she provides service and support on topics such as content curation, cybersecurity, and interoperability.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2024
Kimberly Jackson
Executive Director of Instructional Technology
Kimberly Jackson serves as the Executive Director of Instructional Technology where she provides leadership for the Instructional Technology and Media Services, Data Accountability and Analytics Reporting, State and Federal Reporting/Student Information Services, and Information Systems departments. She has been an educator for over 23 years. During her career in education, Kimberly has been a classroom teacher, instructional technology specialist, school administrator, and district-level leader. In her current role, Kimberly leads initiatives such as the development of the 2022 1EDTECH Learning Impact award-winning platform, HenryConnects, which is a fully interoperable one-stop shop leveraging a variety of IMS Global Standards and a range of digital transformation initiatives that require the adoption of IMS Global Standards that directly enhance students’ educational experiences.

Kimberly earned her undergraduate and Educational Leadership degrees from the University of Georgia, a Master of Middle School Education from Georgia Southwestern State University, and an Education Specialist degree of Instructional Technology and Media Services from the University of West Georgia.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2024
Karina Jones
Karina Jones serves as the Deputy Associate Superintendent for IT Communications and Strategy at the Arizona Department of Education. In this role she oversees the intake and curation of digital initiatives across the agency, articulates their strategic goals, gets executive buy-in and defines implementation processes and evaluation metrics. Karina also sponsors the Office of Digital Teaching and Learning with the mission to serve K12 local education agencies by building a community of educators and solution experts dedicated to achieving digital equity for all students to achieve their full potential.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2024
Jeff McCoy
Associate Superintendent for Academics
Jeff oversees the Offices of Academic Support, Academic Innovation and Technology, Accountability and Quality Assurance, Career and Technical Education and Early Childhood Education. Prior to assuming the Associate Superintendent role, Jeff held various district leadership positions. Jeff is active both at the state and national and serves on multiple advisory boards including the National K12 Congress Advisory Board, National School Transformation Conference Advisory Board, National Chief Academic Officers Working Group and serves on the Board of Directors for the Upstate Children’s Museum. He has co-published a series of Blueprints on Personalized Learning, Cybersecurity and The Marriage of Information Technology and Academics. He presents frequently around the country on the topics of personalized learning, innovation in education and systems level change and support.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: January 1, 2021 - June 30, 2023
Daniel Ralyea
Daniel Ralyea, Director of the Office of Research and Data Analysis at the South Carolina Department of Education, works with a broad network of decision makers to make the most of his state’s educational data. With nearly 750,000 K-12 students in the system, trying to deliver the best results for these students requires a strong team that can discover, share and make decisions from available data.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: - January 1, 2021 - June 30, 2023
Darlene Rankin
Director, Instructional Technology
Darlene Rankin has been an educator for the past 24 years and  has been fortunate to take a lead in 2009 to provide a public, filtered Wi-Fi for Katy ISD students to bring their own device for learning.  Other major initiatives include deploying Google Drive, Office 365,  MyKaty Cloud, Student Learning Platform, Digital Divide Devices for check out and has devoted time and energy to ensure textbooks and all digital resources are integrated and accessed with ease for all learners within Katy ISD. Darlene was named by NSBA “Top 20 to Watch Educators” in 2011.  She is passionate about Digital Responsibility, the whole child,  and ensuring students are connected outside of school.

K-12 Advisory Council Term(s): January 1, 2017 - June 30, 2023
Lorne Rodriguez
Manager of Ecosystem Design
As the Manager of Ecosystem Design, Lorne focuses his time managing the ecosystem supporting Skyline, the CPS’ first-of-its-kind, standards-based, culturally responsive curriculum. The ecosystem consists of all the components involved in running Skyline, including Student Information System [SIS], Learning Object Repository [LOR], etc. Lorne manages the integrations between the components/teams and builds streamline systems to enhance the student experience. This initiative is one of the most important CPS projects ($135M+ budget) which requires Lorne to create usage reports which are utilized by internal teams to further enhance the lesson plans and curriculum.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2024
Walter White
Enterprise Systems Architect
Walter White serves as the Senior Director for Enterprise Architecture where he leads the Enterprise Project and Change Management Office, Quality Management Office, Mobile Device Management team, IT Service Management team and the systems administration team for Google and Office 365. Walt is a national Certified Government Chief Information Officer (CGCIO) educational technology leader in the private, public, and K-12 sectors with greater than 30 years of experience leading efforts for systems integration and interoperability, process automation and supporting technology in the classroom and the district.

K-12 Advisory Council Term: July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2024